Preview: The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee, Donmar Warehouse, 30 March

This one is an Off-Broadway stalwart – I never made my way to see it in NY, but it’s nice to get the chance to see it in London.

When I was avoiding it in NY, it was because it seemed a bit kitchy/gimmicky (based only on the title – I don’t even know if I know anyone who saw it), but after it closed I always wondered whether I had missed something good.  It’s great that Off-Broadway shows can make it over here to a smaller theatre – usually an Off show will have to get translated into something bigger, louder and with broader appeal to make it to Broadway, and then that’s the version that transfers here to a big West End house.  (Spelling Bee may even have made it to Broadway, but it had a good Off-Broadway run before that, so hopefully it’s the smaller quirkier version that’s being put on at the Donmar.)  Embarrassingly I’ve never been to the Donmar, but their stamp on it gives me faith, so this is a great two-birds-with-one-stone thing.

This entry was posted in Theatre, Upcoming. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Preview: The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee, Donmar Warehouse, 30 March

  1. Aliceson says:

    Suggest you practice your spelling as 4 members of the audience are invited to take part! Should be a good performance – I am there a few weeks before.

    The Donmar is such a lovely space and there are finally good dining options nearby (Hawksmoor, Great Queen Street, Opera Tavern top of my list right now) so you can really make a night of it (especially as the show is short). I envy it being your first time there. It has a little piece of my heart.

Leave a Reply

