Review: Afternoon tea at St James Restaurant, Fortnum and Mason

Pink champagne just out of shot.

OK, there wasn’t just tea, I admit it.  There were four of us celebrating the end of a major project, and there was pink champagne.  It didn’t start well – we were half an hour late for a 5.30pm booking, and they had given away our table.  We were determinedly unfazed and ordered champagne from the second class sofas, and I think our exuberance melted the steely demeanour of the front woman.  She granted that she had found us a table, in a part of the restaurant with perhaps a dozen empty tables.  I’m glad we persevered rather than turning tail on principle, as I might have done had I been on my own.  What saved it, apart from our determination to Have a Good Time, was that there was a delightful waiter with trademark Fortnum mint green tie (traditional) and perky gelled hair (maybe less so), who decided to adopt us and coddle us a bit.

Gluten free scones available - how modern.

And I take some coddling, as I can’t in general eat afternoon teas.  All fruit and no dairy or gluten makes Caroline a dull girl, as they say.  No problem.  He brought out a gluten free menu, and a dairy free menu.  We had a little to-ing and fro-ing trying to interpolate between the two, but upshot was the first afternoon tea I have ever eaten without disastrous consequences.  I had scones. I had sandwiches. They weren’t perfect, but they existed, which is unspeakably better than I had expected.  And they didn’t throw us out when we overstayed our welcome.

So, although the welcome was less than effusive, I will be back for afternoon tea.  I might choose to take it in one of F&M’s four other venues – the St James being the ‘most famous’ and ‘formal’ of its places to eat.  After all, one can’t imagine that the others are exactly downmarket, can one?

This entry was posted in All reviews, Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

